music we drove by

River, by Leon Bridges  (performance)

the official video

My dad wanted a parade. He was always saying he’d likely have only a 2-car funeral. So many had gone before him. My too-late ideas for that were not going to work out; a bit of Mardi Gras style. He enjoyed New Orleans and the liveliness of their funerals and honor of those who passed. Yet, I’ve had this CD for months and can listen to this song over and over. And we did.

During the funeral procession, I belatedly tried to text everyone I knew was there behind us, to send this link to listen along with us.

Oddly enough, I said nearly 30 years ago, I would never ever count cars for any man again. Though yesterday we did. I lost count at about 23.

P.S. I think I am going to try to learn this on guitar.

Leave a comment