went back to say goodbyes

My dad’s main nurse Tara is relocating and her last day is Friday. I wanted to be sure to see her in person beforehand. A friend thought it would be too hard for me to go back to the VA home, after last week. It was not. I didn’t think it would be.

I explained and I was reminded when I did arrive – that this was ‘home’ for my dad. And although he didn’t cut his own grass or make his own meals, this is where we hung out with him for nearly two years. Everyone is treated well, the entire family.

I brought some desserts to contribute to Tara’s going away lunch, and wrapped up some bottles of wine for her and a few others. I brought a few mass cards and one of my dad’s caps (one I got him in Charleston, SC) we had saved to give to Bob – his friend down the hall who sat at his bedside for a couple of nights..

It truly was comfortable being there. No hesitation or knots in my stomach…like those we had last week. What was sad, was knowing I would not likely be returning there soon. While I did say that I would give manicures for the ladies again before Easter, I just won’t be able to do so. Maybe another holiday down the road.

 

WP_20150602_002

early June 2015…

What was sad – was saying goodbye to a couple of staffers; seeing some of them men I saw so often who hang out in the hallways to watch the birds and squirrels. This was a chapter ending – not just for my dad’s life – but for this part of our lives and being connected to some seriously compassionate people.

 

 

One thought on “went back to say goodbyes

Leave a comment